Artist commissions announced for inaugural Asia Society Triennial ‘We Do Not Dream Alone’

We Do Not Dream Alone

Sun Xun, July Coming Soon (detail), 2019. Ink and color on silk 24-page folding album. Open: 43.5 x 756 x 0.5 cm; Closed: 43.5 x 31.5 x 5.5 cm. Courtesy of the artist and ShanghART Gallery. Photograph courtesy of Alex Wang (ShanghART Gallery).

The inaugural Asia Society Triennial—a multi-venue festival and first of its kind in the United States devoted to celebrating Asian contemporary art, ideas, and innovation—will feature as its centerpiece an exhibition entitled We Do Not Dream Alone, on view at venues across New York City from June 5–August 9, 2020. The exhibition will present approximately 40 artists and include more than 18 newly commissioned works by participants from Asia and the Asian diaspora, many participating in a major New York museum exhibition for the first time. Co-curated by Boon Hui Tan, Vice President of Global Artistic Programs and Director of Asia Society Museum, who is also the Artistic Director of the Triennial, and Michelle Yun, Senior Curator of Asian Contemporary Art and Associate Director of the Asia Society Triennial, the exhibition will open to the public on Friday, June 5, 2020.

The Triennial exhibition will be free at all locations. It will be accompanied by a fully illustrated catalogue that features critical essays by scholars in the field.

Commissions and partnerships for We Do Not Dream Alone are still in development and the complete list of artists and venues will be announced in early 2020. The following is a partial list of artists (in alphabetical order) who have been invited to create new projects for inclusion in the exhibition:
Song-Ming Ang (b. 1980 in Singapore; lives and works in Berlin, Germany and Singapore); Reza Aramesh (b. 1970 in Awhaz, Iran; lives and works in London, England); Vibha Galhotra (b. 1978 in Chandigarth, India; lives and works in New Delhi, India); Joyce Ho (b. 1983 in Taipei, Taiwan; lives and works in Taipei, Taiwan); Abir Karmakar (b. 1977 in Siliguri, India; lives and works in Vadodara, India); Kimsooja (b. 1957 in Daegu, Korea; lives and works in New York, US; Paris, France; and Seoul, Korea); Lao Tongli (b. 1983 in Leizhou, China; lives and works in Guangzhou, China); Lu Yang (b. 1984 in Shanghai, China; lives and works in Shanghai, China); LuxuryLogico (collective founded in 2010 in Taipei, Taiwan); Prabhavathi Meppayil (b. 1965 in Bangalore, India; lives and works in Bangalore, India); Anne Samat (b. 1973 in Melaca, Malaysia; lives and works in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia); Samita Sinha (b. 1978 in New York, US; lives and works in New York, US); Sun Xun (b. 1980 in Fuxin, China; lives and works in Beijing, China); Melati Suryodarmo (b. 1969 in Solo, Indonesia; lives and works in Solo, Indonesia); Natee Utarit (b. 1970 in Bangkok, Thailand; lives and works in Bangkok, Thailand); Wen Hui (b. 1960 in Yunnan Province, China; lives and works in Beijing, China); Xu Bing (b. 1955 in Beijing, China; lives and works in Beijing, China and New York, US); Xu Zhen (b. 1977 in Shanghai, China; lives and works in Shanghai, China).

Asia Society Triennial
We Do Not Dream Alone

June 5–August 9, 2020