55th Venice Biennale 2013: A selected preview on nominated artists and curators.

Simryn Gill (b. 1959) will represent Australia. Simryn’s exhibition will be curated by Catherine de Zegher.

Mathias Poledna
(b. 1965) will represent Austria. The pavillion is curated by Jasper Sharp.

In the first participation Bahamas will be represented by Tavares Strachan. The curators are Jean Crutchfield and Robert Hobbs.

Nobel-Prize winning novelist J.M. Coetzee will feature sculptor Berlinde de Bryckere.

Shary Boyle
(b.1972), a Toronto artist whose quirky pieces often involve a dark, feminist twist, has been selected to represent Canada.

Alfredo Jaar
 (b. 1956) will represent Chile with a major new site-specific installation. Jaar will work with curator Madeleine Grynsztejn, the Pritzker Director of the Museum of Contemporary Art in Chicago.

Artist Jesper Just (b. 1974) will be responsible for the Danish Pavilion and will develop a new multi-channel video installation in close collaboration with Caruso St John Architects and Project Projects.

Dénes Farkas will represent Estonia with his project ‘Evident in Advance’.

The Albanian-born, Paris-based contemporary artist Anri Sala (b. 1974) will represent France. He has named Christine Macel curator of his exhibition. The exhibition will be shown in the German Pavilion in the Giardini.

Bouillon Group, Thea Djordjadze, Nikoloz Lutidze, Gela Patashuri with Ei Arakawa and Sergei Tcherepnin, Gio SumbadzeCommissioner: Marine Mizandari, First Deputy Minister of Culture of Georgia, Curator: Joanna Warsza.

Susanne Gaensheimer, Director of the Museum für Moderne Kunst Frankfurt/Main, was reappointed as curator of Germany’s official contribution. She has invited four international artists from different countries: Ai Weiwei, Romuald Karmakar, Santu Mofokeng and Dayanita Singh. The exhibition will be shown in the French Pavilion in the Giardini.

Great Britain
Turner Prize winner Jeremy Deller (b. 1966) will present a solo exhibition at the British Pavilion.

Artist: Stefanos Tsivopoulos; Curator Syrago Tsiara.

Hong Kong
Lee Kit
 (b. 1978) will represent Hong Kong.  Curator of the Hong Kong pavillion is executive director of M+ Lars Nittve.

Katrin Sigurdardottir
(b. 1967) has been selected to represent IcelandTwo curators, Mary Ceruti, and Ilaria Bonacossa, have been engaged in realizing Sigurdardottir’s exhibition.

In it’s first participation with an own pavilion Indonesia will be represented by five artists: Albert Yohan Setiawan, Sri Astari, Eko Nugroho, Entang Witarso and Titarubi.

Richard Mosse. Commissioner and Curator is Anna O’Sullivan, Director of the Butler Gallery, Kilkenny, Ireland

Gilad Ratman 
(b. 1975) will represent Israel.

The media artist Koki Tanaka (b. 1975) will represent Japan. Curator: Mika Kuraya (Chief Curator of the Department of Fine Arts, The National Museum of Modern Art, Tokyo).

Artists: Kaspars Podnieks, Krišs Salmanis
Commissioners: Zane Čulkstēna and Zane Onckule
Curators: Anne Barlow, Courtenay Finn, Alise Tīfentāle

Akram Zaatari (b. 1966) has been selected to represent Lebanon. The curators are Sam Bardaouil and Till Fellrath.

Raimundas Malašauskas
, curator and author, has been selected to represent Lithuania. He will present a collective exhibition titled ‘oO’ – a large-scale, thoroughly engineered curatorial project. Raimundas Malašauskas, currently working as part of dOCUMENTA (13) curatorial team, is known for his truth-bending and time-stretching curatorial practice, nourished and expressed by numerous collaborations with artists, writers, thinkers and tinkerers.

The Netherlands
The Mondriaan Fund has selected the presentation Room with Broken Sentence by curator Lorenzo Benedetti (b. 1972) and visual artist Mark Manders (b. 1968) as the Dutch entry for the 55th Venice Biennale

New Zealand
Sculptor, photographer and installation artist Bill Culbert (b. 1935) will represent New Zealand.

‘Beware of the Holy Whore: Edvard Munch and the Dilemma of Emancipation’Edward Munch and Lene Berg. Curators: Marta Kuzma, Director, OCA, Angela Vettese, President, Fondazione Bevilacqua La Masa and Pablo Lafuente, Associate Curator, OCA.

Paris-born Joana Vasconcelos (b. 1971) will represent Portugal.

The Common Guild
 is curator of Scotland and will present projects by Duncan CampbellHayley Tompkins and Corin Sworn.

South Korea
Artist: Kimsooja; Curator: Kim Seung-duk, director of international projects at Le Consortium in Dijon, France.

Curator Octavio Zaya, artist Lara Almarcegui.

Valentin Carron
 (b. 1977) has been selected to represent Switzerland. Carron’s exhibition will be curated by Giovanni Carmine from Ticino, currently director of Kunst Halle St. Gallen. To add an international touch to the Swiss presence at the biennale, Pro Helvetia is organising a multi-faceted lecture and discussion programme by the name of «Salon Suisse» at the centrally located Palazzo Trevisan in Venice.

Commissioned curator Esther Lu (b. 1977) is a Taiwanese freelance curator based in Taipei. She selected the artists  Chia-Wei Hsu (Taiwan, b. 1983), Bernd Behr (Taiwan/ Germany, b. 1976),  and Kateřina Šedá (Czech Republic, b. 1977)

Ali Kazma 
(b. 1971) will represent Turkey. The Pavilion will be curated by Emre Baykal.  Emre Baykal currently works as Exhibitions Director and Curator at ARTER, an initiative of the Vehbi Koc Foundation.

United Arab Emirates
The exhibition, curated by Reem Fadda, will see a solo presentation of Emirati artist Mohammed Kazem (b. 1969).

United States
Sarah Sze 
(b. 1969), the installation artist known for creating site-specific environments out of everyday objects like toothpicks, sponges, light bulbs and plastic bottles, has been chosen to represent the United States.

Bedwyr Williams
 (b. 1974) will represent Wales. The curators are Alfredo Cramerotti and Amanda Farr.

Read more about Venice Biennale