Artists of the 5th Guangzhou Triennial announced

Departing from the theme Asia Time, the curatorial team invited 47 artists and artists groups to participate in the first edition of the Asia Biennial / fifth edition of the Guangzhou Triennial.

In a world dominated by a global “World Time” awareness, Asia Time focuses on a local understanding of Asian time. Firstly, it intends to give an impetus to a topical way of thinking about time that comes from the arts. But at the same time, the historical and current context of Guangzhou will be involved as a starting point for searching alternative models and multiple perspectives able to better articulate the notion of “Asia Time.” Subsequently, new modes of thinking about Asia will emerge going beyond geographically and historically defined concepts.

Curatorial Team:
Luo Yiping: Chairman, Director of Guangdong Museum of Art, Guangzhou, China
Henk Slager: Chief Curator, Dean of MaHKU and Research Professor, HKU University of the Arts, Utrecht, The Netherlands
Zhang Qing: Chief Curator, Head of the Curatorial and Research Department of the National Art Museum of China, Beijing, China
Kim Hong-Hee: Curator, Director of Seoul Museum of Art, Seoul, Korea
Ute Meta Bauer: Curator of Performance Program, Founding Director of CCA, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Sarah Wilson: Curator of Academic Program, Professor of Courtauld Institute, London, UK
Sun Ge: Curator of Academic Program, Researcher, Institute of Literature, Chinese Academy of Social Sciences, Beijing, China

Selected artists:
Adel Abidin (Iraq/Finland); Airan Kang (Korea); Anya Zholud (Russia); Armin Linke (Italy/Germany) and XML (The Netherlands); Bani Haykal (Singapore); Bei Douxing (China); Body Group (Saara Hannula in collaboration with Tommi Antero, Robert Allen, Rachel Fain and Carmen Wong – Finland/USA); Bu Bing (China); Chiharu Shiota (Japan); Ella Raidel (Austria); Esther Shalev-Gerz (France); Fu Wenjun (China); Geumhyung Jeong (Korea); ½ Q Theatre (China, Taiwan); Ho Tzu Nyen (Singapore); Hongjohn Lin (China, Taiwan); Hu Xiangcheng (China); Jalal Toufic and Graziella Rizkallah Toufic (Lebanon); Jan Kaila and Japo Knuutila (Finland); Indieguerillas (Indonesia); Jan Simon (Poland); Job Koelewijn (The Netherlands); Kyungah Ham (Korea); Leung Mee Ping (China,Hongkong); Liu Yue (China); Melati Suryodarmo (Indonesia); Ming Wong (Singapore); Nasrin Tabatabai and Babak Affrassiabi (Iran/The Netherlands); Natascha Sadr Haghihian (Germany); NC Group (China); Omer Fast (Israel/Germany); Pei Yongmei (China); Praneet Soi (India/The Netherlands); Rayyane Tabet (Lebanon); Sara van der Heide (Korea/The Netherlands) in collaboration with a.o. Liu Ding, Dongyoung Lee, Chan-Kyong Park, and Johannes Schwartz; Saleem Arif (India/UK); Sarah Sze (USA); Siren Eun Young Jung (Korea); Susan Pui San Lok (UK); Tiong Ang (The Netherlands) in collaboration with Alejandro Ramirez, Dongyoung Lee, Louwrens Duhen, Sinta Wullur, Robert Wittendorp, Heekyung Ryu, Ingrid Edwards, Hiroomi Horiuchi and Atone Niane; Wang Wei (China); Yu Xuhong (China); Yuan Gong (China); Yamashiro Chikako (Japan); Yue Minjun (China); Zhang Xiaotao (China); and Zhou Tao (China).

More information about the project and the opening programme will be forthcoming in mid-November.

Read more about Guangzhou Triennial