8th Turku Biennial announces the selection of participating artists

8th Turku Biennial

The artists for the 8th Turku Biennial exhibition have been selected. 16 artists were chosen from the 260 applications that arrived through an open portfolio submission. New works by 13 artists will be exhibited in the Aboa Vetus & Ars Nova Museum. Three artists will be presented in Turku Artists’ Association’s Gallery Å.

The selected artists are:

Anna Estarriola
Teemu Korpela
Riikka Kuoppala
Reija Meriläinen
Juha Mäki-Jussila
Pekka Niskanen
Tuula Närhinen
Anssi Pulkkinen
Minna Rainio & Mark Roberts
Simo Ripatti
Minna Suoniemi
Päivi Takala
Nora Tapper
Nita Vera
Hanna Vihriälä

Current Themes and Spectrum of Techniques

The 8th Turku Biennial does not have a predetermined theme: the exhibition gives the invited artists free reign. In the selected applications, several societally current themes stood out. In their works, the artists will discuss the current state of the world around us. Definition of one’s own space, boundaries, being an outsider and themes of remembering will also be strongly present in the works. Many of the subjects appear as timeless, time-defying meditations. In the working methods of many artists, the union of art and research is emphasized – the processes of art and research work come closer to each other. The selected works open a topical view into contemporary art in the 100-year-old Finland.

The jury members for the 8th Turku Biennial were: Aboa Vetus & Ars Nova’s museum director Johanna Lehto-Vahtera, curators Eeva Holkeri, Silja Lehtonen and Laura Ruohonen, Turku Artists’ Association’s executive director Riina Kotilainen, Helsinki Art Museum’s (HAM) acting chief curator Pirkko Siitari and the representative of the public Hanne Mustiala.

Turku Biennial will take place at the Aboa Vetus & Ars Nova Museum from 17 November 2017 to 8 April 2018.

Read more about Turku Biennial.

Read more about Turku Biennial